Colloquium in 2014

« Back to Colloquium

Friday, December 12
Robert Borgersen (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Progress Towards a Mathematics Placement Test at the University of Manitoba - Part 2
Friday, December 5
Colin Desmarais (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Finite Geometries and lower bounds for $ex(n;K^{(3)}(2,2,t))$
Friday, November 28
Darja Kalajdzievska (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Learning about how students learn
Friday, November 7
Robert Borgersen (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Progress Towards a Mathematics Placement Test at the University of Manitoba
Friday, October 31
Eric Harper (Department of Mathematics, McMaster University): Virtual knots and their Alexander invariants
Friday, October 17
T. G. Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Kepler's Conjecture and the Flyspeck Project
Friday, October 3
Bela Bollobas (Mathematics, Cambridge, UK & Memphis, TN, USA): Phase transitions and local limit theorems
Friday, September 19
Norbert Heuer (Department of Mathematics, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile, Santiago, Chile): Discontinuous approximations of hypersingular integral equations
Friday, June 6
Lajos Molnar (Mathematics, University of Debrecen, Hungary): An operation on the positive definite cone of a $C^*$-algebra and its algebraic properties
Friday, May 16
Colin Ingalls (Mathematics & Statistics, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton): Rationality of the Brauer-Severi Varieties of Sklyanin algebras
Friday, May 2
Ievgen Bilokopytov (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The dilation in different settings
Friday, April 25
Kaitlin Alexander (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): A Simplified Model of Ocean Circulation
Friday, March 21
Khodr Shamseddine (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Characterization of compact and self-adjoint operators, and study of positive operators on a Banach space over a non-Archimedean field
Friday, March 14
Michael Doob (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Some tamales in your tikz
Friday, March 7
Adam Clay (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Knot groups and orderability
Friday, February 28
Derek Krepski (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Global quotients among symplectic toric orbifolds
Friday, February 14
Shaun Lui (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Nonlinear PDEs Explained
Friday, January 31
Michael Doob (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Adding some pizzazz to beamer
Friday, January 24
Varvara Shepelska (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Weak amenability of certain Beurling algebras
Friday, January 17
Andrii Arman (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Combinatorial Nullstellensatz
Friday, January 10
Karen Gunderson (Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research, University of Bristol): Random Markov processes
Important Dates

December 11 – December 21: Fall Term Exam Period (includes tests and midterm exams for Fall/Winter Term classes)

December 22 – January 1: Winter Holiday (University Closed)

Upcoming Exams

MATH 2030 A01 Final Exam
Monday, December 11 at 1:30 p.m.

MATH 1240 Final Exam
Monday, December 11 at 1:30 p.m.

MATH 1700 Final Exam
Tuesday, December 12 at 1:30 p.m.

MATH 1010 Final Exam
Wednesday, December 13 at 6:00 p.m.

Upcoming Seminar

Colloquium talk:
Seth Wolbert
Friday, January 12 at 14:30, 418 Machray Hall.