Colloquium in 2013

Friday, November 29
Stephen Kirkland (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The Kemeny Constant For Markov Chains
Friday, November 22
Darja Kalajdzievska (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Debunking Math Myths
Friday, November 15
Matthias Neufang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Topological Centres Everywhere
Friday, November 8
Xiangui Zhao (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Gelfand-Kirillov Dimension Of Differential Difference Modules
Friday, November 1
David Gunderson (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Extremal Graphs Forbidding Odd Cycles
Friday, October 25
Ranganathan Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Equational Logic Of Groups and Rings
Friday, September 27
Ryan Schultz (Science Library, University of Manitoba): A Guide To The Libraries For Graduate Mathematics Students
Friday, September 6
Eli Levin (Mathematics, The Open University of Israel): The Generalized Christoffel Functions and Extremal Problems
Friday, April 26
Andriy Bondarenko & Danylo Radchenko (Mathematics, National Taras Shevchenko University, Kyiv, Ukraine): Spherical Designs: Proof Of The Korevaar-Meyers Conjecture and Beyond
Monday, April 22
Nilima Nigam (Mathematics, Simon Frazer University): The Mathematics of Light and Sound
Friday, April 12
Darja Kalajdzievska (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Taking Math Students From 'Blah' To 'Aha!'; What Can We Do?
Friday, April 5
Oleksiy Klurman (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Rigidity and Randomness In Numbers
Friday, March 22
Safoura Zaffar Jafar Zadeh (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Fixed Points and Derivation Problem Of B. E. Johnson
Friday, March 15
Prof. Alexander Ol'shanskii (Department of Mathematics, Moscow State University & Vanderbilt University): Planar Pictures, Asymptotic Invariants, and Computational Complexity Of Groups
Monday, March 11
Junfeng Jiang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Birational Transformation Of Gromov-Witten and Donaldson-Thomas Invariants
Thursday, March 7
Stefan Tohaneanu (Department of Mathematics, University of Western Ontario): Linear Codes From Commutative Algebraic Perspectives
Monday, March 4
Jonathan Brown (Mathematics Department, Gonzaga University): Infinite Dimensional Lie Algebra Representation Theory and Finite W-Algebras
Friday, March 1
Iman Soliman (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Mathematical Analysis Of The Role Of Movement In The Spread Of Tuberculosis
Thursday, February 28
Adam Clay (Département de mathématiques, Université du Québec à Montréal): Ordered Groups and 3-Manifolds
Monday, February 25
Derek Krepski (Department of Mathematics, University of Western Ontario): Geometric Quantization and Verlinde Formulas
Thursday, February 14
Michael Brandenbursky (Department of Mathematics, Vanderbilt University): Metrics On Diffeomorphism Groups and Symplectic Factorization Theorems
Monday, February 11
Sean Fitzpatrick (Department of Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley): Index Theory, Dirac Operators and Quantization
Friday, February 8
Prof. R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Congruent Number Problem
Friday, February 1
Yong Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Finit Dimensional Invariant Subspace Property Of Linear Mappings
Friday, January 25
Tommy Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Applications of Differentiation in the Marquis de l' Hospital's 'Analyse'
Friday, January 18
Ross Stokke (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Homomorphisms Of Group Algebras
Friday, January 11
Michael Doob (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Two New Tools To Make Your Math Web Pages Better