Colloquium in 2012

« Back to Colloquium

Friday, December 7
David Gunderson (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Applications of the probabilistic method
Friday, November 30
Sasho Kalajdzievski (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Mathematicians, Mystics, Miracles
Friday, November 23
Anthony To-Ming Lau (Department of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences, University of Alberta): Fixed Point set of measures and positive definite functions on a locally compact group
Friday, November 16
Jaydeep Chipalkatti (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Cancelled
Friday, November 2
Anna Stokke (Mathematics & Statistics, University of Winnipeg): Young tableaux and the cyclic sieving phenomenon
Friday, October 26
Julien Arino (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Some mathematical problems arising in models for the spatio-temporal spread of infectious pathogens
Friday, October 19
Eric Schippers (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): A correspondence between Teichmuller theory and conformal field theory
Friday, October 12
Nick Harland (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The Iterated Carmichael Lambda Function
Friday, September 28
John van Rees (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Friendship Graphs and Friendship Hypergraphs
Friday, September 21
Hanno Lefmann (Computer Science, TU Chemnitz, Germany): Edge Colorings of Graphs Avoiding a Fixed Monochromatic Subgraph
Thursday, July 5
Toban Wiebe (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Game Theory and Evolution
Thursday, July 5
Jason Klusowski (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Flows, Branching Numbers and Percolation on Trees
Wednesday, April 25
Karen Rosemarie Johannson (Mathematics, University of Memphis): Bootstrap percolation
Thursday, April 5
Dr. R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): One Equation, Many Avatars
Thursday, March 29
Rob Craigen (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Manitoba Math War
Thursday, March 22
Stephanie Portet (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Modelling intermediate filaments: what problems, what tools?
Thursday, March 15
Tommy Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The First Calculus Textbook: The Marquis de l'Hospital and the
Thursday, March 8
Yang Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): An Introduction to Computer Algebra Methods
Thursday, March 1
Pappur Shivakumar (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba):  Mathematical Modelling of Some Human Diseases
Important Dates

December 11 – December 21: Fall Term Exam Period (includes tests and midterm exams for Fall/Winter Term classes)

December 22 – January 1: Winter Holiday (University Closed)

Upcoming Exams

MATH 2030 A01 Final Exam
Monday, December 11 at 1:30 p.m.

MATH 1240 Final Exam
Monday, December 11 at 1:30 p.m.

MATH 1700 Final Exam
Tuesday, December 12 at 1:30 p.m.

MATH 1010 Final Exam
Wednesday, December 13 at 6:00 p.m.

Upcoming Seminar

Colloquium talk:
Seth Wolbert
Friday, January 12 at 14:30, 418 Machray Hall.