Colloquium in 2012

« Back to Colloquium

Friday, December 7
David Gunderson (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Applications of the probabilistic method
Friday, November 30
Sasho Kalajdzievski (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Mathematicians, Mystics, Miracles
Friday, November 23
Anthony To-Ming Lau (Department of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences, University of Alberta): Fixed Point set of measures and positive definite functions on a locally compact group
Friday, November 16
Jaydeep Chipalkatti (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Cancelled
Friday, November 2
Anna Stokke (Mathematics & Statistics, University of Winnipeg): Young tableaux and the cyclic sieving phenomenon
Friday, October 26
Julien Arino (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Some mathematical problems arising in models for the spatio-temporal spread of infectious pathogens
Friday, October 19
Eric Schippers (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): A correspondence between Teichmuller theory and conformal field theory
Friday, October 12
Nick Harland (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The Iterated Carmichael Lambda Function
Friday, September 28
John van Rees (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Friendship Graphs and Friendship Hypergraphs
Friday, September 21
Hanno Lefmann (Computer Science, TU Chemnitz, Germany): Edge Colorings of Graphs Avoiding a Fixed Monochromatic Subgraph
Thursday, July 5
Toban Wiebe (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Game Theory and Evolution
Thursday, July 5
Jason Klusowski (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Flows, Branching Numbers and Percolation on Trees
Wednesday, April 25
Karen Rosemarie Johannson (Mathematics, University of Memphis): Bootstrap percolation
Thursday, April 5
Dr. R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): One Equation, Many Avatars
Thursday, March 29
Rob Craigen (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Manitoba Math War
Thursday, March 22
Stephanie Portet (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Modelling intermediate filaments: what problems, what tools?
Thursday, March 15
Tommy Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The First Calculus Textbook: The Marquis de l'Hospital and the
Thursday, March 8
Yang Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): An Introduction to Computer Algebra Methods
Thursday, March 1
Pappur Shivakumar (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba):  Mathematical Modelling of Some Human Diseases
Important Dates

February 19: Louis Riel Day (University Closed)

February 19 – February 23: Reading Week (No classes)

Upcoming Exam

MATH 1500 Midterm
Thursday, March 1 at 5:40 p.m.

Upcoming Seminars

Combinatorics seminar:
Shonda Gosselin: Metric Dimension of Circulant Graphs and Cayley Hypergraphs
Friday, March 9 at 15:30, 415 Machray Hall.

Combinatorics seminar:
Ben Li: TBA
Friday, March 16 at 15:30, 415 Machray Hall.

Colloquium talk:
Hadrien Montanelli: Pattern formation on the sphere
Friday, March 23 at 14:30, 418 Machray Hall.