Seminars in 2016

« Back to recent seminars

Tuesday, December 13
Ashish Gupta (Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhopal): Structure and representations of algebras.
Friday, December 2
Robert Quakenbush (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Ramsey clones
Wednesday, November 30
Yong Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Fixed point and amenability properties of semigroups
Tuesday, November 29
R. Quackenbush (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): When is a semilattice a lattice?
Friday, November 25
Andrii Arman and Sergei Tsaturian (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Maximum number of cycles in a graph
Thursday, November 24
Thomas M. Sellke (Department of Mathematics, Purdue University): Limit Theorems For The Frontier of One-Dimensional Branching Diffusions
Wednesday, November 23
Ievgen Bilokopytov (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Around Bergman metric
Tuesday, November 22
Gabor Kunstatter (Department of Mathematics, University of Winnipeg): Black Holes, Firewalls and Exorcisms
Friday, November 4
Asha Rao (School of Mathematical and Geospatial Sciences, RMIT University ): Low-density Parity-check codes
Friday, November 4
Martin Buhmann (Department of Mathematics, Justus-Liebig University Giessen): Interpolation and Quasi-Interpolation with Multiquadrics Radial Functions
Thursday, October 27
Jose Ramon Madrid Padilla (Mathematics and system analysis, Aalto University): On the regularity of classical and fractional maximal operators
Thursday, October 27
Martin Buhmann (Department of Mathematics, Justus-Liebig University): Radial Basis Functions: Interpolation, Quasi-Interpolation, Convergence and Interpolation with Parameters
Wednesday, October 26
Ievgen Bilokopytov (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Around Bergman metric
Tuesday, October 25
Jose Ramon Madrid Padilla (Mathematics and system analysis, Aalto University): Endpoint Sobolev and BV Continuity for Maximal Operators
Tuesday, October 25
Daniel Johnson (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Encryption Basics and the DES
Tuesday, October 25
Juancho A. Collera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Symmetry-Breaking Bifurcations in Laser Systems with All-to-All Coupling
Monday, October 24
Tom Baird (Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Memorial University): Topological aspects of GIT over the real and complex numbers
Friday, October 21
Derek Krepski (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): A Leisurely Introduction to Groupoids
Friday, October 21
Ranganathan Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Term Spectra and their Minimal Extensions
Friday, October 21
Asha Rao (School of Mathematical and Geospatial Sciences , RMIT University): Tracking Money Laundering -- the Enron case
Thursday, October 20
Faith Ellen (Department of Mathematics, University of Toronto): Asynchronous Consensus
Wednesday, October 19
Christopher Ramsey (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Introduction to free probability, part II
Tuesday, October 18
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Automated Proofs with Power-Maps in Semigroups.
Friday, October 14
Eric Schippers (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Notions of Complex Structure
Friday, October 14
David Gunderson (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): A result in finite projective planes used for dimension theory of posets
Wednesday, October 12
Christopher Ramsey (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Introduction to Free Probability
Tuesday, October 11
Mikael Slevinsky (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Computing Stieltjes and Log Transforms Of Functions With Algebraic Endpoint Singularities
Friday, October 7
Jared Aurentz (Department of Mathematics, ICMAT Madrid): Core-chasing algorithms for the eigenvalue problem
Tuesday, October 4
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Torsion-free \( n\) -abelian semigroups.
Tuesday, October 4
Felicia Magpantay (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Lyapunov-Razumikhin Techniques For State-Dependent Delay Dfferential Equations
Friday, September 30
Karen Gunderson (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Percolation and infinite trees
Friday, September 30
Jennifer Vaughan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Geometric Quantization: A Case Study
Thursday, September 29
Juncheng Wei (Department of Mathematics, University of British Columbia): On De Giorgi Conjecture and Beyond
Tuesday, September 27
Andriy Prymak (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): On behaviour of Christoffel function for domains in ${\mathbb R}^d$
Tuesday, September 27
T. Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Some duality results in the infinitary model theory of modules. Part II
Monday, September 26
Cristobal Rivas (Department of Mathematics, University of Santiago, Chile): Introduction to Amenability of Groups
Friday, September 23
Michael Szestopalow (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Matchings and Covers in Hypergraphs
Tuesday, September 20
T. Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Some duality results in the infinitary model theory of modules
Tuesday, September 20
Mikael Slevinsky (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Computing Stieltjes and Log Transforms Of Functions With Algebraic Endpoint Singularities
Friday, September 9
Rajesh Kannan: TBA
Friday, September 9
Rob Craigen (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Algebraic design theory Part 2
Thursday, August 4
Alexey Eremin (Department of Mathematics, Saint Petersburg State University): Functional Continuous Runge-Kutta methods for Retarded Functional Differential Equations
Wednesday, July 27
William Grafton (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): On the Convergence and Analytical Properties of Power Series on Non-Archimedean Field Extensions of the Real Numbers
Friday, July 22
Lindsay Wessel (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Impact of Vaccination and Mobility on Disease Dynamics: A Two Patch Model For Measles
Tuesday, July 19
Mahnaz Alavinejad (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Transmission Dynamics of an Infectious Disease with Treatment
Friday, July 8
Ashish Gupta (Department of Mathematics, IISER Bhopal): Growth of Algebraic Structures
Thursday, July 7
Ashish Gupta (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Gelfand--Kirillov dimension of irreducible representations of non-commutative algebras
Tuesday, July 5
Jason Rose (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): THE EFFECT OF MOVEMENT ON THE EARLY PHASE OF AN EPIDEMIC
Thursday, June 30
Yang Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Mathematical Modelling mTOR-NMT Signalling Pathway
Tuesday, June 14
Vladimir Nosov: Analysis of Monoton Numerial Schemes
Tuesday, June 14
Vladimir Nosov (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Analysis of Monoton Numerical Schemes
Tuesday, May 3
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Induction with first-order theorem-provers
Monday, May 2
Mykhailo Akhtariiev (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Teichmuller Space and its Representation by the Period Mapping
Friday, April 8
Rob Craigen (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Algebraic design theory
Tuesday, April 5
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): CANCELLED: to be rescheduled at a later date.
Tuesday, April 5
Kenneth R. Davidson (Department of Mathematics, University of Waterloo): Multivariable Operator Theory and Dilation Theory
Friday, April 1
Steve Kirkland (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Kemeny's Constant and an Analogue of Braess' Paradox for Markov chains
Friday, April 1
Jiun-Chau Wang (Department of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Saskatchewan): Noncommutative probability and Boole's transformation
Tuesday, March 29
G. Moghaddam (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): On commutativity of cancellative semigroups
Thursday, March 17
Mark Giesbrecht (David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science, University of Waterloo): Sparsity, Complexity and Practicality in Symbolic Computation
Friday, March 11
Rob Craigen (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): A survey of negacyclic weighing matrices
Friday, March 11
Sarah Plosker (Mathematics & Computer Science, Brandon University): Some matrix theory questions arising from quantum coherence
Tuesday, March 8
Yang Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The 'A=B' question
Friday, March 4
Craig Westerland (Department of Mathematics, University of Minnesota): Arithmetic statistics via algebraic topology
Wednesday, March 2
Richard Brualdi (Department of Mathematics, University of Wisconsin-Madison): Permutations, Tournaments, X-rays, and Skolem Sequences
Tuesday, March 1
Richard Brualdi (Department of Mathematics, University of Wisconsin-Madison): Combinatorial Matrices
Friday, February 26
Stephane Durocher (Computer Science, University of Manitoba): The locality of route-finding in a graph
Tuesday, February 23
Qiwei Feng (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Smith forms and generalized inverses for Ore matrices
Friday, February 19
Azer Akhmedov: On bi-orderability of knots.
Friday, February 12
Sergii Tsaturian (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Triangle-free graphs with the maximum number of cycles
Tuesday, February 9
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Huntington's Conjecture, Revisited.
Friday, February 5
Steven P. Lalley (Department of Mathematics, University of Chicago): Statistical Regularitiesof Geodesics on Negatively Curved Surfaces
Tuesday, February 2
T. G. Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): All (or most of) the details of a
Friday, January 29
Ranganathan Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Sylvester-Gallai Configurations
Thursday, January 28
Michael Hartz (Pure Mathematics, University of Waterloo): Representations of multiplier algebras of Nevanlinna-Pick spaces
Tuesday, January 26
Susan Roddy (Mathematics and Computer Science, Brandon University ): A notion of reducibility for u.c-families of sets, that is, for finite lattices.
Tuesday, January 19
T. G. Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): All (or most of) the details of a 'Small' example (Part 3)
Thursday, January 14
Jianhong Wu (Department of Mathematics and Statistics, York University): Mathematics for risk prediction of epidemic waves in a changing environment
Important Dates

December 11 – December 21: Fall Term Exam Period (includes tests and midterm exams for Fall/Winter Term classes)

December 22 – January 1: Winter Holiday (University Closed)

Upcoming Exams

MATH 2030 A01 Final Exam
Monday, December 11 at 1:30 p.m.

MATH 1240 Final Exam
Monday, December 11 at 1:30 p.m.

MATH 1700 Final Exam
Tuesday, December 12 at 1:30 p.m.

MATH 1010 Final Exam
Wednesday, December 13 at 6:00 p.m.

Upcoming Seminar

Colloquium talk:
Seth Wolbert
Friday, January 12 at 14:30, 418 Machray Hall.