Seminars in 2012

Friday, December 7
David Gunderson (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Applications Of The Probabilistic Method
Tuesday, December 4
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Tarski Spectrum For Group-Like Varieties and Lattice-Like Varieties
Friday, November 30
Sasho Kalajdzievski (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Mathematicians, Mystics, Miracles
Friday, November 23
Anthony To-Ming Lau (Department of Mathematical & Statistical Sciences, University of Alberta): Fixed Point Set Of Measures and Positive Definite Functions On A Locally Compact Group
Tuesday, November 20
Julian Salamanca Tellez (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Implicitly Defined Operations In Equational Theories
Tuesday, November 13
Max Bennett (Department of Mathematics, University of Winnipeg): Young Tableaux and Jeu-De-Taquin Promotion
Tuesday, November 6
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Tarski Spectrum For Group-Like Varieties
Friday, November 2
Anna Stokke (Mathematics & Statistics, University of Winnipeg): Young Tableaux and The Cyclic Sieving Phenomenon
Tuesday, October 30
DM (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Derivations and Multipliers From Certain Banach Algebras Related To Locally Compact Groups Problems
Tuesday, October 30
R. Quackenbush (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Ideals In Commutatitve Rings and Distributive Lattices (Part 2)
Friday, October 26
Julien Arino (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Some Mathematical Problems Arising In Models For The Spatio-Temporal Spread Of Infectious Pathogens
Tuesday, October 23
R. Quackenbush (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Ideals In Commutatitve Rings and Distributive Lattices
Friday, October 19
Eric Schippers (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): A Correspondence Between Teichmuller Theory and Conformal Field Theory
Tuesday, October 16
Nicolas Bouffard (University of St. Boniface, University of Manitoba): A Common Fixed Point Theorem In Reflexive Locally Uniformly Convex Banach Space
Tuesday, October 16
Xiangui Zhao (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Groebner Cases and Gelfand-Kirillov Dimensions Of Differential Difference Algebras
Friday, October 12
Nick Harland (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The Iterated Carmichael Lambda Function
Tuesday, October 9
Safoura Jafar-Zadeh (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): On Isometric Isomorphism Of $LUC(G)^*$
Friday, September 28
John van Rees (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Friendship Graphs and Friendship Hypergraphs
Tuesday, September 25
Yang Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Computing The Hermite Forms Of Quaternion Polynomial Matrices
Friday, September 21
Hanno Lefmann (Computer Science, TU Chemnitz, Germany): Edge Colorings Of Graphs Avoiding A Fixed Monochromatic Subgraph
Tuesday, September 18
T. Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Harold Simmons On Idioms, Nuclei and Ranks
Thursday, July 5
Toban Wiebe (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Game Theory and Evolution
Thursday, July 5
Jason Klusowski (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Flows, Branching Numbers and Percolation On Trees
Wednesday, April 25
Karen Rosemarie Johannson (Mathematics, University of Memphis): Bootstrap Percolation
Thursday, April 5
Dr. R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): One Equation, Many Avatars
Tuesday, April 3
Yang Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The Resultants For Skew Polynomials
Thursday, March 29
Rob Craigen (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Manitoba Math War
Tuesday, March 27
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Group Law On Pell's Conics
Thursday, March 22
Stephanie Portet (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Modelling Intermediate Filaments: What Problems, What Tools?
Wednesday, March 21
Yong Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): A fixed point property for semigroups and 2m-eak amenability of group algebras
Tuesday, March 20
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Group Laws Induced By Conics
Thursday, March 15
Tommy Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The First Calculus Textbook: The Marquis de l'Hospital
Tuesday, March 13
Yang Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The Square-Free Problem In Skew Polynomials
Thursday, March 8
Yang Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): An Introduction To Computer Algebra Methods
Thursday, March 1
Pappur Shivakumar (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Mathematical Modelling Of Some Human Diseases
Tuesday, February 28
R. Quackenbush (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): A Proof Of The Hahn Embedding Theorem
Tuesday, February 14
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Congruent Number Problem
Tuesday, February 7
T. Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Zil'ber's Exponential Fields (etc) (Part 3)
Tuesday, January 31
T. Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Tarski's Exponential Problem, Schanuel's Conjecture, Zil'ber's Pseudo-Exponential Fields...(Part 2)
Tuesday, January 24
T. Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Tarski's Exponential Problem, Schanuel's Conjecture, Zil'ber's Pseudo-Exponential Fields