Seminars in 2009

Monday, November 30
Abba Gumel (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Dynamically-Consistent Finite-Difference Methods For Epidemic Models
Friday, November 27
Ross Stokke (Mathematics and Statistics, University of Winnipeg): Homomorphisms of Convolution Algebras
Thursday, November 26
Michael Doob (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Using A Wiki As A Classroom Presentation Tool
Tuesday, November 24
Christine Wu (Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, University of Manitoba): Stability Analysis Of Nonlinear/Non-smooth Dynamic Systems With Applications To Developing Bipedal Robots
Tuesday, November 24
Joe LoVetri (Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Manitoba): Mathematical Formulations and Solution Techniques For The Electromagnetic Inverse Problem Associated with Microwave Tomography
Tuesday, November 24
Clint Enns (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Pure Embeddings and Pure-Injectivity For Topological Modules
Tuesday, November 17
R. W. Quackenbush (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Varieties of Lattice-Ordered Groups and Rings I: The Arithmetic of Lattice-Ordered Groups And Rings
Tuesday, November 17
Sherif Sherif (Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Manitoba): Statistical Image Extraction In Optical Coherence Tomography
Tuesday, November 17
R. W. Quackenbush (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Varieties of Lattice-Ordered Groups and Rings I: The Arithmetic of Lattice-Ordered Groups And Rings
Tuesday, November 10
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Tight Embeddings of Finite Projective Planes
Friday, November 6
Amin Mahmoodi (Department of Mathematics, Azad University of Tehran): Diagonals in Connes- Amenability
Tuesday, November 3
Chris Bowman (Department of Mathematics, National Research Council Institute for Biodiagnostics, Winnipeg and Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Manitoba): Evaluation of Vaccination Strategies During Pandemic Outbreaks
Tuesday, November 3
Yang Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Model Theory In Fields With Both Differential and Difference Operators
Monday, November 2
Liqun Wang (Statistics, University of Manitoba): A Practical and Efficient Monte Carlo Random Sampling Method For Statistical Computation And Global Optimization
Tuesday, October 27
Katherine Davies (Statistics, University of Manitoba): A Two-Dimensional Renewal Process With Applications To Forest Fire Modelling
Wednesday, October 21
Varvara Shepelska (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Daugavet Property - PART II
Tuesday, October 20
Murray Alexander (NRC-IBD, Dept. of Physics, Univ. of Winnipeg, University of Manitoba): A Model For The Mechanism of T Cell Expansion and Contraction Leading To T Cell Memory
Wednesday, October 14
Varvara Shepelska (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Daugavet property
Tuesday, October 6
Michael Domaratzki (Computer Science, University of Manitoba): Template-Guided Recombination and Ciliate Molecular Computing
Tuesday, October 6
W. Kocay (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): A Rational Coordinatization of the Georges Configuration
Tuesday, September 29
Mark Alexiuk (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Development Of IMRIScardio, An Integrated, Interventional Angio-MR
Tuesday, September 29
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Ellipses, Lemniscates, and The AGM (continued)
Tuesday, September 22
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Ellipses, Lemniscates and The AGM (continued)
Tuesday, September 22
Chengjun Sun (Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Global Results For An SIRS Model With Vaccination and Isolation
Tuesday, September 22
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Ellipses, Lemniscates, and The AGM
Wednesday, July 8
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Some Semigroup Laws Of B.H. Neumann
Wednesday, June 10
Yang Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Interpolations of Difference Operators and Applications
Wednesday, May 27
Yang Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): On Differential-Difference Algebras
Wednesday, May 6
Tagreed Mohammed (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Equivariant Projection Morphisms Of Specht Modules
Tuesday, May 5
Stephanie Portet (Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Modeling Of The Intermediate Filament Assembly
Tuesday, April 28
R. Padmanabhan (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Ternary Modular Algebras
Tuesday, April 28
Chris Bowman (Department of Mathematics, NRC IBD): Optimal Control For An Influenza Pandemic
Thursday, April 16
Grant Woods (Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The "Poset Version" Of Martin's Axiom (Part 2)
Tuesday, April 14
Robert Craigen (Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Thoughts About Weighing Matrices and Weighing Problems, Circulant Matrices and Eigenvalues
Thursday, April 9
Nikolay Romanovskiy (Institute of Mathematic, Novosibirsk, Russia): Algebraic Geometry Over Solvable Groups
Friday, March 27
Nina Zorboska (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Univalently Induced Closed Range Composition Operators On The Bloch-Type Spaces
Thursday, March 26
Jean Lubuma (Mathematics, University of Pretoria): Non-Standard Numerical Schemes For Dynamical Systems
Tuesday, March 24
Melody Ghahramani (Mathematics and Statistics, University of Winnipeg): On Combining Estimating Functions For Some Volatility Models
Thursday, March 19
Athena Nguyen (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Every Abelian Group Containing An Infinite Torsion Subgroup Is Almost Maximally Almost-Periodic
Thursday, March 19
R. W. Quackenbush (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Bernoulli Numbers, Umbral Calculus, and Universal Algebra
Tuesday, March 17
P. N. Shivakumar (Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The Shape of a Drum, a Constructive Approach
Tuesday, March 10
Julien Arino (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): The Global Air Transportation Network - Some Notions Of Applied Graph Theory
Friday, February 27
Vladimir Shpilrain (Department of Mathematics, The City College of New York): Group-Based Cryptography
Thursday, February 26
T. Kucera (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Vaught's Conjecture and Module Theory
Friday, February 6
Yong Zhang (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Amenability of Beurling Algebras
Thursday, February 5
Clint Enns (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): Product & Co-Product For Topological Modules
Friday, January 23
Fereidoun Ghahramani (Department of Mathematics, University of Manitoba): A Criterion For Non-Approximate Amenability Of Banach Algebras